International Conference

The Legacy of Peace – 25 Years of the Dayton-Paris Peace Agreement

National University Library

Zagreb, 15 December 2020

Organized by the Croatian Academy of Sciences and Arts and the Ministry of Foreign and European Affairs.

Participants either will be present at the National University Library (NUL) or will be using Video Teleconference (VTC).

All times are in Central European Time (CET).

The Conference will be streamed live on the Ministry's YouTube channel MVEPRH - https://youtu.be/RPu6gesgkmk

Opening

14:00 Welcome

14:05 – 14:10 President of the Croatian Academy of Sciences and Arts Velimir Neidhardt (NUL)

Introductory Remarks:

14:10 – 14:25 Prime Minister of the Republic of Croatia Andrej Plenković (NUL)

14:25 – 14:40 President of the Republic of Croatia Zoran Milanović (tbc) (NUL)

Keynote speech:

14:40 – 14:55 Josep Borrell Fontelles, High Representative of the European Union for Foreign Affairs and Security Policy / Vice President

(video message)

Looking Back - Building Blocks of Peace

15:00 – 16:25 Panel 1

From the Washington to the Dayton Agreement: What made Peace possible?

Mate Granić, Foreign Minister of Croatia during the Washington and Dayton talks (NUL)

Haris Silajdžić, Former Member of the Presidency of Bosnia and Herzegovina, Prime Minister of BiH during the Washington and Dayton talks (VTC)

Gen. Wesley Clark, Former NATO Supreme Allied Commander Europe, US military representative at the Dayton talks (VTC)

Miomir Žužul, Former Foreign Minister of Croatia, member of the Croatian negotiating team at the Dayton talks (VTC)

Christopher Hill, Ambassador, Richard Holbrooke's deputy at the Dayton talks (VTC)

Moderator: **Robin Harris**, Historian and former adviser to UK Prime Minister Margaret Thatcher (NUL)

Looking Ahead - Creating Room for Compromise

16:30 – 17:55 Panel 2

Linking the Principle of three Constituent Peoples and the Sejdić-Finci judgement: What is the way forward?

Christopher McCrudden, Professor of Human Rights and Equality Law, Queen's University Belfast (VTC)

Brendan O'Leary, Lauder Professor of Political Science, University of Pennsylvania (VTC)

Ljiljana Mijović, Professor of International Public Law, University of Banja Luka, former BiH judge of the ECHR (VTC)

Kasim Trnka, Professor of Constitutional Law, University of Sarajevo, chief legal counselor of the BiH delegation at the Washington and Dayton talks (VTC)

Dražen Barbarić, Assistant Professor of Political Science, University of Mostar (NUL)

Marko Prelec, Consulting analyst, International Crisis Group (VTC)

Edward P. Joseph, Professorial Lecturer, Johns Hopkins School of Advanced International Studies (VTC)

Moderator: **Tihomir Vinković**, Chief Foreign Affairs Editor, HRT Croatian Radiotelevision (NUL)

18:00 – 18:25 Remarks by Foreign Ministers

Sergei Lavrov, Minister of Foreign Affairs, Russia (tbc)

Jean-Yves Le Drian, Minister of Europe and Foreign Affairs, France (video message)

18:30 - 20:00 Panel 3

Euro-Atlantic Commitment to Bosnia and Hercegovina

Denis Zvizdić, First Vice-Chairman of the House of Representatives of Bosnia and Herzegovina, former Prime Minister of BiH (tbc)

Gordan Grlić Radman, Minister of Foreign and European Affairs, Croatia (NUL)

Olivér Várhelyi, Commissioner for Neighbourhood and Enlargement, European Commission (VTC)

Nikola Špirić, Chairman of the House of Peoples of Bosnia and Herzegovina (NUL)

Dragan Čović, Vice-Chairman of the House of Peoples of Bosnia and Herzegovina (NUL)

Miroslav Lajčák, EU Special Representative for the Belgrade-Pristina Dialogue and other Western Balkan regional issues (VTC)

Moderator: Ivana Petrović, Chief Foreign Affairs Editor, Nova TV (NUL)