Member type
Show just active data

Members of Academy

The Academy consists of honorary, full, corresponding and associate members. The Academy initiated its activities in 1866 with 16 full members.
The Academy Assembly introduced on 12 June 1996 the Regulations on the Proposals for and the Elections of the Members of the Croatian Academy of Sciences and Arts.

Full members

Full members of the Academy are elected from among scientists and artists, who are Croatian citizens and have proven excellence in their particular fields.
Full members reserve the right to bear the title of the Fellow of the Croatian Academy (F.C.A.), and they are part of the permanent working structure of the Academy. The maximum number of
full members is 160.

Associate members

Distinguished younger scientists or artists from the Republic of Croatia are chosen as associate members. This group may include a maximum of 100 members.

Honorary members

The Croatian Academy may elect as honorary members persons, who are exceptionally meritorious for the development and progress of sciences and arts. Currently, the Academy has no honorary members; among its deceased honorary members, we should mention the Nobel Laureates Lavoslav Ružička, Vladimir Prelog and Linus Pauling, as well as Don Frano Bulić, Ljubo Babić Gjalski, Alfons Mucha, Vlaho Bukovac, Celestin Medović, Ivan Zajc, Dmitri Ivanovich Mendeleeff, Nikola Tesla, Cardinal Franjo Kuharić, and numerous other world-renowned scientists and artists.

Corresponding members

Distinguished scientists and artists from abroad, who collaborate with the Croatian Academy of Sciences and Arts, may be elected corresponding members. Many corresponding members of the Academy have been recipients of highest scientific and artistic awards.
The maximum number of corresponding members is 160.

Deceased Members

Members of Academy died from 1998 till
today are listed here.