Department of Mathematical, Physical and Chemical Sciences

The Institute of the History and Philosophy of Science

Head of: Žarko Dadić, F.C.A.
Director: Prof. Ph. D. Stella Fatović-Ferenčić,

Ante Kovačića 5, 10000 Zagreb
Phone +385(0)14698231

Entitys in composition:


Project: Croatian Scientific and Philosophical Heritage: Transfers and Appropriations of Knowledge from the Middle Ages to the Twentieth Centur in the European Context


The Institute for the History of Natural, Mathematical and Medical Sciences was founded in 1960; it has consisted of two divisions since 1980. In 1992 it joined the Institute for the Philosophy of Science and Peace, and two became the Institute for the History and Philosophy of Science, whose activities are carried out through three divisions.

The building in Ante Kovačića 5, Zagreb, headquarters of several Academy's institutes and laboratories


Science research unit

Museum-gallery unit

Rest units

  • Trsteno Arboretum
  • Archives
  • Library
  • Foundation of the Croatian Academy of Sciences and Arts