Organization and Membership

The main bodies of the Academy are:

  1. the Assembly, which includes all full members of the Academy,  
  2. the Presidency – the executive body of the Assembly, which consists of the Management Board members, secretaries of the departments, and five full members of the Academy elected by the Assembly among the members of the departments not actively involved in the work of the Management Board.

The Academy consists of honorary, fullcorresponding, and associate members. The Academy, initiated its activities in 1866 with 16 full members. Full members reserve the right to bear the title of Fellow of the Croatian Academy (F.C.A.), and they are part of the permanent working structure of the Academy.

The Croatian Academy may elect as honorary members persons, who are exceptionally meritorious for the development and progress of sciences and arts. Currently, the Academy has no honorary members; among its deceased honorary members, we should mention the Nobel Laureates Lavoslav Ružička, Vladimir Prelog and Linus Pauling as well as Teodor Wickerhauser, Don Frano Bulić, Ljubo Babić Gjalski, Alfons Mucha, Vlaho Bukovac, Celestin Medović, Ivan Zajc, Dmitri lvanovich Mendeleeff, Nikola Tesla, Cardinal Franjo Kuharić, and numerous other world-renowned scientists and artists.

Full members of the Academy are elected from among scientists and artists, who are Croatian citizens and have proven excellence in their particular fields.

Distinguished scientists and artists from abroad, who collaborate with the Croatian Academy of Sciences and Arts, may be elected corresponding members. Many corresponding members of the Academy have been recipients of highest scientific and artistic awards. The maximum number of both corresponding and full members is 160.

Distinguished younger scientists or artists from the Republic of Croatia are chosen as associate members. This group may include a maximum of 100 members.


The Academy's tasks are carried out through its Departments. The working structure of the departments is made up of full members, while corresponding and associate members belong to their broader structure.

  1. The Department of Social Sciences
  2. The Department of Mathematical, Physical, and Chemical Sciences
  3. The Department of Natural Sciences
  4. The Department of Medical Sciences
  5. The Department of Philological Sciences
  6. The Department of Literature
  7. The Department of Fine Arts
  8. The Department of Music and Musicology
  9. The Department of Technical Sciences

The Academy has a number of scientific research and artistic units in Zagreb and other Croatian towns. They are within the competence of their respective departments.

The the Academy consists of scientific councils and  committees, in addition to various commissions and centers which are located in Zagreb and other Croatian towns.


updated: 09/27/17 ; 09/26/17
updated: 01/11/11
D. Torbica, editor